Fine. I guess I’ll run.

March 5, 2012

I’m going to start running again.

Ok, I’m going to try running again.

Alright, seriously, I’m going to start running.

I don’t expect to be a super marathoner any time ever (I don’t want to be). I just want to be healthier and lose weight. Apparently working out with that evil woman Jillian (30 Day Shred) is causing me to gain a bunch of muscle (Yay! Upper body strength!) but it’s not doing anything to the fat around those muscles, thus my thighs are getting bigger, not smaller. However, I might still use her for weight training purposes a few times a week instead of daily.

Anyway, since I can’t stand running on a treadmill or elliptical and I hate gyms and I like to be outside, running seems like a great thing to get back into. So, I’m going to be following a couch-to-5k training plan. Here’s how it should go:

Week 1:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes (3x/wk).

Week 2:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 90 seconds of jogging and two minutes of walking for a total of 20 minutes (3x/wk).

Week 3:
Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then do two repetitions of the following (3x/wk):

Jog 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
Walk 200 yards (or 90 seconds)
Jog 400 yards (or 3 minutes)
Walk 400 yards (or three minutes)

Week 4:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then (3x/wk):

Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
Walk 1/4 mile (or 2-1/2 minutes)
Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

Week 5:

Day 1) Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

Day 2) Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

Jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes)
Walk 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
Jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes)

Day 3) Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then jog two miles (or 20 minutes) with no walking.

Week 6:

Day 1) Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
Jog 3/4 mile (or 8 minutes)
Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

Day 2) Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

Jog 1 mile (or 10 minutes)
Walk 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
Jog 1 mile (or 10 minutes)

Day 3) Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then jog 2-1/4 miles (or 22 minutes) with no walking.

Week 7:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then jog 2.5 miles (or 25 minutes) (3x/wk).

Week 8:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then jog 2.75 miles (or 28 minutes) (3x/wk).

Week 9:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then jog 3 miles (or 30 minutes).

Hopefully everything will go as planned and I will run in the Komen 5k on Mother’s day (May 13). If that’s successful I will hopefully do more this summer.

First I have to find better shoes to fit my goofy feet (high arches, weak ankles…).

Wish me luck!

5 Responses to “Fine. I guess I’ll run.”


  1. Good luck! I love ‘couch to 5K’ though I gave up on running and just cycle & lift weights. Running always makes me feel like death.


  2. Funny how long the list of major things that can fall apart based on running is and yet I see so many people doing it.

    • Candice Says:

      After a week+ of running with this program it’s my knee that seems to suffer the most, and even then it’s just slightly achy. Not painful. My back feels great and my ankles are fine too. My Achilles was sore one day after I stopped with the heel striking and moved to more of a flat strike but I think as I work on my stride it’ll get better.

      If all else fails, I’ll buy a bike. 🙂


  3. […] you remember, I wrote that I plan to start running. Well, on Saturday the weather was great and I figured I might as well start now. So I […]


Leave a Reply

