Hand over my passwords? Hell no!

March 6, 2012

Apparently there’s a new social media policy being adopted my some employers, mostly government agencies, that require applicants to hand over their usernames and passwords for Facebook and Twitter. It’s not just employers, colleges are asking applicants for the same information.

First of all, I have a link to my Twitter account on my resume. I expect employers to try to look me up given the field I work in (or trying to work in). However, I will not be handing over my password to anyone. Everything you’d want to know is public information: my followers, who I’m following, my tweets, my lists, my interactions with other people and even a link to my crappy blog. What more could you need to know?

Of course there are the DMs. Sure, mine are rather boring. You’re not going to find some Anthony Weiner-type scandal, and it wouldn’t be horribly embarrassing if they were leaked. Regardless, handing over my password, and access to my DMs, is no different than allowing an employer permission to bug my house and phone to listen to things I say in the privacy of my own home.

There are many people who will say, “If you don’t have anything to hide, what’s the problem?” The problem is, it starts with access to your Twitter account, next text messages, followed by video cameras in your living room/car and tracking devices in your purse…

…oh wait…

…that’s already possible.

Is there any situation where that type of intrusion would be OK? In my opinion, no. Unless I’ve done something illegal and there’s a search warrant, it’s just not going to happen.

If that means I don’t get a job, so be it. I guess that’s the price I’ll have to pay.

Leave a Reply

